Moon Tooth Premieres “Six of Swords” Exclusively with Brooklyn Vegan

Moon Tooth
Premieres “Six of Swords”
Exclusively with Brooklyn Vegan
Violent Grief: Acoustic Selections
Available Tomorrow via Pure Noise Records
 “Not since the early days of the Mars Volta has a rock band managed to sound so wildly 
adventurous while delivering such unshakable hooks.”  – Rolling Stone
The Long Island prog-metal band bursts with enthusiasm and rabid energy, as if Mastodon’s 
apocalyptic visions were replaced with cosmic wonder.– Pitchfork
Moon Tooth walk that perfect line between metal and
hard rock that is truly destructive.” – Kerrang!
Moon Tooth pull off this kinda thing pretty well, and the string arrangements that 
flesh out “Six of Swords” are a nice touch too.” – Brooklyn Vegan

JULY 30, 2020 – LONG ISLAND, NY– Long Island rockers Moon Tooth have teamed up with Brooklyn Vegan for an early look at “Six of Swords”, the brand new track from Violent Grief: Acoustic Selections. “‘Six of Swords’ speaks to the stage of grief when a person must choose to heal,” Vocalist John Carbone shared with Brooklyn Vegan. “Suffering is necessary and beneficial, but a time comes when one has to leave old wounds behind. It’s something that can be just as difficult as the initial trauma itself.”
Guitarist Nick Lee continues, sharing It is a complete departure from anything we have released before. It is minimalist, patient, and musing whereas everything we have released thus far is immediate and intense. We are stoked to stretch out and show what else we can do with “Six of Swords.”
Due out tomorrow, July 31st via Pure Noise Records, the 5-song EP is comprised of today’s release and four songs from the band’s critically-acclaimed 2019 release CRUX, including previously shared Awe At All Angles (Acoustic)“. CRUX was chosen by Rolling Stone as one of their Top 50 Albums of 2019 while garnering acclaim from outlets like PitchforkGuitar WorldRevolverInvisible OrangesMetal Injection and more.
“Time is the only thing with a chance of washing grief away. It’s a process that can be ugly, violent and in most cases not brief,” shares John Carbone (vocals) on the meaning behind the EP title. “In order to let time do it’s work properly, a person must recognize the difference between the violence that’s necessary and the violence that’s clung to. At some point, grief is a choice. When time’s done it’s job, it’s up to us to put the hurt down.”
Violent Grief: Acoustic Selections is available to pre-order today at
Violent Grief: Acoustic Selections Track Listing
1.     Trust (Acoustic)
2.    Awe At All Angles (Acoustic)
3.    Six of Swords (Acoustic)
4.    Motionless in Sky (Acoustic)
5.    Through Ash (Acoustic)
Machine (Lamb of God, Every Time I Die, King Crimson, Clutch) and Lamb of God’s Mark Morton worked on the pre-production of Crux. The album tells the story of the band at this crucial point where the past must die so new life can begin. The album was officially released on March 29th, 2019, and received over 100,000+ streams in its first week. It also hit the Billboard charts, reaching #13 on Heatseekers, #23 on Hard Music, #43 on Indie Label, #62 on Digital Albums, and more.
Moon Tooth began its journey at the end of 2012. Founding members Nick Lee and Ray Marte’s previous band had dissolved and they quickly found a musical and philosophical kinship with singer John Carbone and bassist Vincent Romanelli.  The band went straight to work writing and constantly gigging. After a number of singles and EPs, they self-released their first full-length album, Chromaparagon, receiving acclaim from outlets such as Guitar World, Revolver, Premiere Guitar, and more.
Moon Tooth is John Carbone (vocals), Nick Lee (guitar/vocals), Ray Marte (drums/vocals), and Vincent Romanelli (bass).
Follow Moon Tooth: