HEIRESS: Seattle Post-Hardcore/Sludge Unit To Release Distant Fires Full-Length Via Satanik Royalty Records This Fall; Artwork Revealed

HEIRESS: Seattle Post-Hardcore/Sludge Unit To Release Distant Fires Full-Length Via Satanik Royalty Records This Fall; Artwork Revealed
[Photo by Scott Evans]
Long-running Seattle post-hardcore/sludge unit HEIRESS featuring current and former members of Himsa, Undertow, Blightmaker, and more will unleash their long-awaited Distant Fires full-length this Fall via the newly-launched Satanik Royalty Records. The followup to the band’s 2016’s critically adored Made Wrong offering will serve as the label’s first official release!
Comments Satanik Royalty Records head Freiburger, “HEIRESS has been one of my favorite Seattle bands since they formed shortly after I moved here from Alaska. The energy and passion behind their music has always been so amazing, motivating, and inspirational. This record blows my mind and I’m so proud to have it be my first official release!”
Adds HEIRESS, “A lot of bands say their latest album is their best, but it turns out this time it actually happens to be true… we’re happy that something we care about so much and worked on for so long will be the first release on Satanik Royalty as an official label. To quote Priscilla Allen in 1990’s Total Recall, ‘get ready for a surprise!’”
Distant Fires was recorded by Scott Evans (Kowloon Walled City, Minsk, Howling Sycamore) at MRX Studio in Seattle, Washington and mastered by Brad Boatright (Obituary, Integrity, -(16)-, Dropdead) at Audiosiege in Portland, Oregon. View the cover art below and stay tuned for street date, teaser tracks and more to be unveiled in the weeks to come.
Founded in Seattle, Washington in 2006 by guitarist Wes Reed, HEIRESS fuses hardcore punk, heavy metal, and post-rock into a distinctive brand of slow-burning rhythmic desolation. Initially conceived as a solo project with various vocal contributors, Reed eventually recruited Rome Plow Records co-owner Adam Paysse to the vocal position. In December 2008, John Pettibone, former member of Himsa and Undertow among others, took over Paysse’s place as lead vocalist. The following year, HEIRESS self-recorded and released a five-song self-titled EP before being signed to the still relatively new Deathwish Inc., an independent hardcore punk label co-founded by Jacob Bannon of Converge. The group’s first release through the label was a split 7″ with Narrows.
In mid-2011, Jack Endino (Nirvana, Mudhoney, Murder City Devils) produced and engineered seventeen new HEIRESS tracks at Soundhouse Studios. Endino also remixed two previously recorded HEIRESS songs. Deathwish released two of the songs from these sessions — “Naysayer” and “Just Throats” — as a seven-inch single in 2012. The single featured artwork by Demian Johnston, who previously played with Pettibone in Undertow and Nineironspitfire. Wrote Alternative Press, “Pettibone has never sounded closer to the edge as he does here; it’s as if he’s desperate to get these words out and drawing upon all of his strength to do so. That HEIRESS focus more on mood and atmosphere than busting heads does not mean that what follows won’t be primed to destroy everything in their path…” Ten of the remaining tracks from this session became HEIRESS’ full-length debut album titled Early Frost, released in 2013.
HEIRESS released its second studio album Of Great Sorrow in 2015 through The Mylene Sheath. The album was recorded by Tad Doyle of the Seattle-based band Tad and mastered by Chris Hanzsek (Soundgarden, Melvins). Before the release of Of Great Sorrow, the band had already begun working on its third studio album with Matt Bayles (Botch, Isis, Mastodon). The band dropped Made Wrong in 2016 through The Mylene Sheath. Vice championed the record’s “complex, fractured mishmash of sludge and post-hardcore with post-rock, doom, primitive grunge, and straight up hardcore,” further lauding their, “heightened …intensity and their mastery of the ‘contemporary loud/quiet’ dynamic.”
Wes Reed – guitar
Justin Martinez – drums (Jough Dawn Baker)
John Pettibone – vocals (Himsa, Undertow, The Vows, Iamthethorn)
Mat Houot – bass (Blightmaker)