Silverstein Shreds at The Observatory in San Diego

Fans flocked to The Observatory venue in the North Park neighborhood of San Diego, California as Silverstein played a sold out show on Saturday night. The group is about halfway through the Misery Made Me Tour following the release of a 2-disc deluxe version of their album by the same name. Joining them onstage were openers Dayseeker, SeeYouSpaceCowboy, and One Step Closer. This lineup of hardcore bands made for an energetic evening and a multitude of mosh pits.

First up was One Step Closer, an American rock band from Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania. Since forming in 2016 the band has had some lineup changes, but currently consists of vocalist Ryan Savitski, guitarists Ross Thompson and Colman O’Brien, bassist Brian Talipan, and drummer Tommy Norton. Their first full-length album, This Place You Know, was released with the Run For Cover Records label in 2021 to positive reviews and the band has gained a dedicated fan following. The group classifies themselves as straight edge and melodic hardcore, citing Blink-182, Green Day, and Title Fight as influences on their sound. Frontman Ryan Savitski had an emotional delivery to his lyrics as the stage lights aggressively flickered bright red through most of the set.


  • I Feel So
  • Lead to Gray
  • Leave Me Behind
  • Pringle Street
  • Dark Blue
  • Dusk
  • Time Spent, Too Long
  • Turn to Me
  • Chrysanthemum
  • The Reach

Next to hit the stage was San Diego local, SeeYouSpaceCowboy. This American hardcore punk band was founded in 2016 by vocalist Connie Sgarbossa, bassist Ethan Sgarbossa, and guitarist/bassist Taylor Allen, later adding bassist Timmy Moreno and drummer AJ Tartol. The band gets their name from the Anime show Cowboy Bebop, and promotes LGBTQ representation, veganism, and anti-racist messages in their personal politics. SeeYouSpaceCowboy’s sound has been described as metalcore, hardcore punk, and art-punk, but they self-describe as “sasspunk” and prefer not to be thought of as “screamo.” 

Lead vocalist Connie stepped onto the stage armed with a crop top shirt and seemingly endless energy, jumping onto platforms and bending over backwards with each lyrical scream. Their song titles are long and reminiscent of Panic! At The Disco’s nomenclature, playing recent tracks like “Life as a Soap Opera Plot, 26 Years Running,” and “Melodrama Between Two Entirely Bored Individuals” off of their 2021 album, The Romance of Affliction. The crowd was bopping along, pounding their fists into the air as the band played through a 10-song setlist that created a unique listening experience.


  • Misinterpreting Constellations
  • Disdain Coupled With a Wide Smile
  • Life as a Soap Opera Plot, 26 Years Running
  • Self Help Specialist Ends Own Life
  • Armed With Their Teeth
  • With High Hopes and Clipped Wings
  • …And My Faded Reflection in Your Eyes
  • Melodrama Between Two Entirely Bored Individuals
  • The End to a Brief Moment of Lasting Intimacy
  • 911 Call: “Help I’ve Overdosed on Philosophy!”

The final opener was post-hardcore powerhouse Dayseeker. The group includes Rory Rodriguez (lead vocalist), Gino Sgambelluri (guitar, backing vocals), Ramone Valerio (bass), and Mike Karle (drums). Donning business attire of button-up shirts and suits, the foursome from Orange County, California delivered smooth vocals and intense energy throughout their set. Drummer Mike Karle had striking glittering face paint swiped across his checks that were amplified under the stage lights. The band formed in 2012 and is currently signed to Spinefarm Records.

The group’s passionate live performance captivated the crowd, featuring intense vocals from Rory Rodriguez that contrasted nicely with their introspective and vulnerable lyrics. The band has received praise for their innovative ability to fuse a blend of musical influences into their sound, exploring alternative rock and metalcore while maintaining a unique sound. They opened with “Dreamstate,” a catchy track with a harcore breakdown from their most recent album Dark Sun (2022). The whole venue was singing along and even crowd surfing with growing intensity after each song. Dayseeker’s lyrics often deal with themes of mental health, relationships, and the struggles of everyday life, which resonate with their fans on a deep and personal level. Frontman Rory Rodriguez sometimes draws from his own personal experiences of loss in their songs. The band’s dynamic setlist included songs from most of their studio albums. They ended the set with “Sleeptalk,” the title track from their 2019 album, leaving the audience hyped up and ready for the headlining band.


  • Dreamstate
  • Crooked Soul
  • Burial Plot
  • Homesick
  • Crying While You’re Dancing
  • Without Me
  • Drunk
  • Sleeptalk
  • Neon Grave

Finally the lights dimmed and the crowd exploded in cheers as Silverstein stepped out into the darkness. The glow of purple and blue stage lights washed across the stage as the five piece opened with a high-energy song “Ultraviolet” off of their most recent album, Misery Made Me (2022). Silverstein, whose name is a reference to author Shel Siverstein, is a Canadian post-hardcore band from Burlington, Ontario. The group is composed of originating members Shane Told (lead vocals), Josh Bradford (rhythm guitar), Paul Koehler (drums), and Billy Hamilton (bass), along with Paul Marc Rousseau (lead guitar) who has been with the band since 2012. Since forming in the year 2000, this band has been an integral part of the alternative music scene for over two decades. Their 23-year career has included over a dozen album releases, several EPs and singles, and almost annual tours including several appearances on the Vans Warped Tour. 

Their debut album When Broken Is Easily Fixed, was released in 2003, and Silverstein has grown with each record since, maintaining a signature sound while incorporating elements of rock, emo, and punk genres into the mix. They played a 20-song setlist that spanned their diverse discography and included two encores plus a cover of Linkin Park’s “One Step Closer.” The jam-packed venue of concertgoers was loudly singing along, enthusiastically matching the energy that was being delivered by each member of the band. Crowd surfing was not in short supply throughout the evening as fans danced and jumped their way toward the stage, mosh pits forming for fast-paced songs like “Burn It Down.” Their music combines emotionally charged lyrics with heavy backing instrumentation, creating a sound that is both intense and cathartic. Told’s powerful vocals and stage presence added to the dynamic performance that continues to solidify Silverstein as one of the most respected and influential bands in their genre.


  • Ultraviolet
  • Retrograde
  • Burn It Down
  • Giving Up
  • It’s Over
  • California
  • American Dream
  • The Ides of March
  • Bankrupt
  • Infinite
  • Bad Habits
  • Massachusetts
  • Poison Pill
  • One Step Closer (Linkin Park cover)
  • My Heroine
  • The Afterglow
  • Live Like This
  • Misery


  • Smile in Your Sleep
  • The Altar/Mary

You can catch Silverstein wrapping up their North American tour in early May before performing in Germany and Canada this summer, and appearing on an Australian tour with The Amity Affliction later this year.