At The Gates Launch New Single And Video For “The Fall Into Time” Off Their Upcoming Album ‘The Nightmare Of Being’
(Gothenburg, Sweden – June 18, 2021) – Swedish melodic death metal pioneers AT THE GATES have just released their third single and video for “The Fall Into Time” off their upcoming album The Nightmare Of Being out July 2ndvia Century Media Records. Watch the music video, which was directed by longtime AT THE GATES co-operator Costin Chioreanu / Twilight13Media (Arch Enemy, Grave, Borknagar, etc.) HERE.
AT THE GATES vocalist Tomas Lindberg Redant states, “Hello everybody! As you might have already guessed, this album is our most ambitious effort yet, including a lot of different orchestrations and new takes on arrangements, etc.
This track, ‘The Fall into Time’ is one of the centerpieces of the album. It is big, demanding and epic. We have always found it intriguing to compose songs like these, think ‘Neverwhere’, ‘Primal Breath’, ‘The Night Eternal’ and ‘Daggers of Black Haze’. It is heavy, mean and dark, as well as almost cinematic in its thematic approach. I have always said that the AT THE GATES listener wants to be challenged and that you hopefully all are as curious as we are when it comes to exploring new musical territory. This song is one of those moments… Enjoy!”
“For the video for this more adventurous track we chose to work again with our dear friend and co-conspirator Costin Chioreanu, as we thought that it required a more arty and avantgarde approach. I was, as always, very intrigued to see what he would come up with, as he has a deep understanding of what AT THE GATES is about. He did not disappoint, and this video is a perfect complement to a song like this. Costin went all the way with this one. Truly inspiring!”
Check out At The Gates’ previously released music videos for “The Paradox” and “Spectre of Extinction” off The Nightmare Of Being.
While main parts for The Nightmare Of Being were recorded in several different Swedish studios (drums at Studio Gröndal with Jens Bogren, guitars and bass with Andy La Rocque at Sonic Train Studio and vocals at Welfare Sounds with Per Stålberg), the album was mixed and mastered at Fascination Street Studios (Amon Amarth, Opeth, Kreator, etc.) by Jens Bogren, who previously worked with AT THE GATES on their 2014 comeback album At War With Reality. The album’s visual concept and album cover was developed by artist Eva Nahon.
The Nightmare Of Being Tracklisting:
1. Spectre of Extinction
2. The Paradox
3. The Nightmare of Being
4. Garden of Cyrus
5. Touched by the White Hands of Death
6. The Fall into Time
7. Cult of Salvation
8. The Abstract Enthroned
9. Cosmic Pessimism
10. Eternal Winter of Reason
The Nightmare Of Being is available in the following formats:
·       Ltd. Deluxe Transparent Blood Red 2LP+3CD Artbook
·       Ltd. 2CD Mediabook
·       Standard CD Jewelcase
·       Standard LP
·       Digital Album
The album’s limited deluxe 2LP+3CD Artbook (depicted below) contains exclusive transparent blood red vinyl on 180g. and will include a 9-track live LP and CD as well as an exclusive instrumental version of the entire The Nightmare Of Being album as a bonus CD. Furthermore, it comes with an extended 32-page booklet, a double-sided A2 poster and 4 art prints. The album’s limited 2CD mediabook comes with an extended 32-page booklet and a 9-track live CD as bonus.
Tracklisting for the 9-track live LP:
1. Red (King Crimson cover, Live at Roadburn)
2. The Scar (Live at Roadburn)
3. Koyaanisqatsi (Philip Glass cover, Live at Roadburn)
4. The Burning Darkness (Live at Roadburn)
5. Daggers of Black Haze (Live in Stockholm)
6. Death and the Labyrinth (Live in San Francisco)
7. A Stare Bound in Stone (Live in San Francisco)
8. Heroes and Tombs (Live in San Francisco)
9. The Night Eternal (Live in San Francisco)
The standard vinyl version of The Nightmare Of Being comes on 180g vinyl and with double-sided A2 poster. It will be available in the following vinyl color variants and limitations:
·       Black LP – Unlimited
·       Transparent Blue LP – 300x copies via CM Webshop and CM Distro Europe
·       Bright Gold-Deep Blood Red Splattered LP – 500x copies via Amazon Germany
·       Sky Blue – 300x copies via EMP
·       White LP – 300x copies via Nuclear Blast
·       Bright gold LP – 300x copies via Supreme Chaos
·       Lilac – 300x copies via Napalm Records
·       Silver LP – 300x copies via Bengans / Sweden
·       Transparent Petrol Green – 300x copies via Eyesore Merch / UK
·       Bone Colored LP – 500x copies via Indie Stores / CM USA
·       Black Ice LP – 300x copies via CM Webshop USA
·       Ultra Clear LP – 300x copies via Revolver USA
·       Tan Colored LP – 300x copies via Decibel USA
The various formats are available for pre-order HERE.
AT THE GATES is Tomas Lindberg Redant (vocals), Jonas Björler (bass), Martin Larsson (guitar), Jonas Stålhammar (guitar), and Adrian Erlandsson (drums).
Follow Century Media: