Don’t Sleep (featuring Dave Smalley) Release New Video “No Other Way.” Produced by Walter Schreifels

East Coast hardcore mainstays DON’T SLEEP are giving fans another taste of their upcoming album with “No Other Way,” a furiously speeding assault from their full album debut, Turn The Tide, due out September 4th via Mission Two Entertainment. The song was produced by Walter Schreifels (Gorilla Biscuits, Youth Of Today, Rival Schools and Quicksand).

Watch “No Other Way” @ Brooklyn Vegan.


DON’T SLEEP’s chemistry is made up of hardcore vets fronted by Dave Smalley, known for his lung-emptying exhales with Dag Nasty, ALL, Down By Law, DYS and others. Smalley describes the track as “An anthem about taking the road less traveled. I think all the kids who came up in the hardcore scene fall into that category. And at this point, in 2020, if you’re listening to this music, you’re a hardcore lifer. It’s in your DNA. Our yesterdays are filled with pain and broken hearts and broken bones, but that’s what made us independent and free. We’re hardcore. We’re steel. Take the path you want. Defy the herd. There is no other way.”

Written in 2019, “No Way Out” bares a stark parallel to the state of the world in 2020, with the lyrics ‘A Voice in the Crowd, Rise and Defy, We Gotta Figure It Out, Stay Free!’ As Smalley adds, “I didn’t know when I worked on these lyrics last year how apt they would be for today. So if these words fit these days, and can be an anthem for standing firm for a righteous cause, that’s even better.”

DON’T SLEEP released two EPs, Don’t Sleep in 2017, Bring The Light in 2018, and has shared stages with Shelter, Sick Of It All, Madball, Face To Face, and performed on the final Vans Warped Tour in 2018.

Turn The Tide pre-orders are available now and include hats, hoodies, t-shirts, multi-colored vinyl and much more.

Turn The Tide Track Listing

  1. Don’t Sleep
  2. No Other Way
  3. Reflection
  4. True North
  5. Abandoned Us
  6. Prisoners
  7. We Remain
  8. Walking In Sinai
  9. Refine Me
  10. Foundation
  11. The Wreckage
  12. December

“True rippers that any fan of melodic hardcore should instantly dig” – BROOKLYN VEGAN

“Righteously driving punk rock and searing, triumphant melodic hardcore” – STEREOGUM

“Elements of 7 Seconds urgency and Black Flag-like freneticism” – DOWN FOR LIFE

“A homage to the sounds of bands like Judge and Bad Brains” – PUNK NEWS

“Amazingly catchy melodic hardcore punk” – IN EFFECT HARDCORE

“Punchy, classic melodic hardcore” – NO ECHO