The Joy Formidable Release New Single “Chimes;” New Album Into The Blue out August 20

The Joy Formidable Release New Single “Chimes” (Stream)
New Album Into The Blue out August 20
“The Joy Formidable are back with their first new single since 2018’s AAARTH, and it finds their dreamy, grungy sound in fine form.” – Brooklyn Vegan on “Into The Blue”

“’Into The Blue’ is a gazing trip through uncharted territory, reflecting an imbalanced world in disarray, and the awakening of looking inward and finding self-acceptance with Bryan bellowing You see me for what I am / I don’t have to guess any more.” – American Songwriter

“Written in North Wales, the track sees bandleader Ritzy Bryan and co weave a selection of tastefully dialed clean electric guitar lines through its epic arrangement.” – Guitar World on “Into The Blue” 
Listen: “Chimes” at YouTube or all digital streaming services
Watch: “Back To Nothing” official video at American Songwriter or YouTube
Listen: “Back To Nothing” at YouTube or all digital streaming services
Listen: “Into The Blue” at all digital streaming services
The Joy Formidable is pleased to share their new single “Chimes” the latest pre-release single from their album Into The Blue out August 20 (pre-order).  The 11 song album will be available digitally and on limited edition colored vinyl via Enci Records in North America, Full Time Hobby in Europe and Soundly Distro in the rest of the world. “Chimes” was written after The Joy Formidable’s Ritzy Bryan went through a difficult breakup. The song was partly inspired by the sounds of her grandfather’s windchimes which helped her let go of the past and focus on moving forward.
On the song Ritzy says:
I was going through a difficult breakup that left me feeling quite lost & questioning myself. In the middle of that sadness, I had a whole week of strange little serendipitous events that ended up inspiring the lyrics for Chimes. I felt like something or someone was looking out for me. Little signs and symbols that makes you feel like there’s a lot that we don’t understand about our connectivity, the earth talking back to you. The wind chimes that my grandfather made (he passed in 2013) , they hang at my house here in Utah, they’ve come all the way from Manchester, UK to the SW desert. They would ring even without a breeze. I imagined that he was rooting for me to move forward, to trust in things again and that the love you put out will eventually come back to you. 
The release of “Chimes” follows up the album’s singles “Back To Nothing” and the album’s critically acclaimed title track. The song was praised by American Songwriter, Brooklyn Vegan, NME, NPR New Music Friday Playlisting, Under The Radar and received support at commercial and non-commercial radio including SiriusXM, NPR stations and BBC 2 in the UK.
Last month the band shared the official video for “Back To Nothing.” The video debuted at American Songwriter and can also be shared at YouTube. The song reflects on where you’ve been and how grief can heal and illuminate the future. Lead singer and guitarist Ritzy Bryan says, “‘Back To Nothing’ takes a stance on self-compassion, realizing your worth & your boundaries and deciding not to give your love to an undeserving other.”
The haunting video was created by Ritzy & Rhydian in Southern Utah & described as a “beautiful challenge.” Ritzy tells American Songwriter, “We’ve always enjoyed making our own visuals, this was a bit more ambitious in the way of getting to the location & tasking ourselves with editing huge 360 files. I’ve learnt a lot about keyframing in a very short amount of time,” she laughs.

Filmed from night to dawn in one of the band’s secret hidey holes in Southern Utah. Ritzy adds, “We wanted to make a video that was alive with nature & imprints of the past but also plays with perspective. To be able to zoom out & change your view of the world & your own reality. It’s a humbling tool that can push you to treat yourself & the people around you a little bit better.”

Into The Blue Vinyl Variants and Bundles
Official Store Exclusive – Limited to 500 Copies – SOLD OUT
– white marble 12” in printed inner sleeve (official store exclusive)
– blue marble 7” (official store exclusive)
– exclusive double-sided insert (exclusive to official store)
– exclusive signed postcard with the first 500 orders (exclusive to official store)

General Retail – Limited to 1500 (375 will be available in the U.S.)
– opaque white 12” in printed inner sleeve (general retail exclusive colourway)
– black 7”

Indie Retail Exclusive – Limited to 700 (200 copies available in the U.S.)
– transparent gold & black marble 12” in printed inner sleeve (indie retail exclusive)
– black 7”

Rough Trade Exclusive – Limited to 300 copies
– transparent gold & black marble 12” in printed inner sleeve (indie retail exclusive)
– white marble 7” (exclusive to Rough Trade)
– signed art print (exclusive to Rough Trade)
– online Q&A with the band, hosted by Huw Stephens on August 20th

Into The Blue follows the band’s critically acclaimed, kaleidoscopic 2018 album AAARTH, during which the band supported Foo Fighters on their North American tour, were invited by The Cure’s Robert Smith to play his Meltdown Festival in London and Pasadena Daydream fest in LA, and they performed on the mainstage at Reading & Leeds Festival. The band’s new album arrives into a much different world this time around, and birthed a new energy for the band. Even during the worst times, music will find ways to inspire & thrive.
The album was written in North Wales and later completed at their homes in Utah, Into The Blue is about opening your eyes to beauty & love again. Making it to the other side. The Joy Formidable’s Ritzy Bryan says, “Whilst not conceived as a metaphor for the times we all live in now, it certainly turned out that way.”

Rhiannon (Ritzy) Bryan & Rhydian Dafydd grew up together in North Wales before forming The Joy Formidable in 2011. Soon joined by drummer Mr. Matt Thomas, they have enjoyed an eclectic decade together creating a legacy that spans genres & celebrates their Welsh culture. Today they split their time between North Wales and the closest thing they could find in the U.S. – “In the middle of nowhere” Utah.

The band’s latest release Into The Blue is about surrendering to love and magic. Having the courage to enjoy a new journey and the mystery and excitement of something unexpected. The band says, “It’s about opening your eyes to beauty and love again. Making it to the other side. Whilst not conceived as a metaphor for the times we all live in now, it certainly turned out that way.” This connection has flowed beyond the studio and into Joy Formidable’s other creative passion, their community focused TJF Music Club. Launched in 2018, TJF Music gives fans access to exclusive music, online shows and much more, forging part of a much needed new culture of direct artist support which they hope other artists could follow to empower themselves. TJF Music Club has also become a cherished way of connecting with fans while touring has ceased and yet flourishes beyond. Click HERE to request Backstage access.
The Joy Formidable – Into The Blue 
album track listing

1. Into The Blue
2. Chimes
3. Sevier
4. Interval
5. Farrago
6. Gotta Feed My Dog
7. Somewhere New
8. Bring It To The Front
9. Back To Nothing
10. Only Once
11. Left Too Soon

Twitter Facebook Instagram YouTube