SOEN Unveil New Music Video “Deceiver”

Unleash Mesmerizing New Video For
Taken From Critically Acclaimed Album
Out via Silver Lining Music
Watch Here | Listen Here
New 2022 European Tour Dates Added
Friday, March 5, 2021 – The provocative, imperious and engaging Sweden-based metal group SOEN reveal the haunting video for ‘Deceiver’, taken from their fifth album, IMPERIAL, out now via Silver Lining Music.
Founder members Joel Ekelöf (vocals) and Martin Lopez (drums), along with Lars Enok Åhlund (keyboards and guitar), Cody Ford (lead guitar) and Oleksii “Zlatoyar” Kobel (bass) challenge the problems, issues and emotions in our increasingly frantic world. The outfit exquisitely contrasts the potently heavy yet eagerly dynamic in their latest video ‘Deceiver’.
The crunchy, metallic groove of ‘Deceiver’ coupled with Ekelöf’s mesmerizing vocals carries a somber sentiment:
“‘Deceiver’ is about battling whatever demons you have and carrying that constant worry on your shoulders, how it can wear you down and make whatever goals you achieve in your life pointless,” explains Lopez.
“It’s about standing up against that negativity within you and trying to keep going even if that negative shadow follows you wherever you go,” adds Åhlund.
The video is the epic finale in a three-part visual tale set out with previous offerings ‘Monarch’ and ‘Illusion’. “’Deceiver’ is the last video of the trilogy started with ‘Monarch’ and then followed by ‘Illusion’,” affirms video producer, Daniele Zed Berretta. “Time in the story goes backwards, to show us what happened before, and who the burnt man really is. Beneath it all, lies the concept of mankind repeating the same mistakes over and over again.
Check out ‘Deceiver’ here, and watch the ‘Antagonist’, ‘Monarch’ and ‘Illusion’ music videos here.
Soen - Deceiver (Official Video)
In conjunction with the release of ‘Deceiver’, SOEN has partnered up with Macedonia-based artist, Ivana Baloska, on the realization of bespoke hand-crafted jewelry which has been inspired by the band’s latest album. The new range is available exclusively via SOEN’s Official Record Shop here along with the IMPERIAL CD digipak, vinyl album, digital formats and special D2C bundles.
Track Listing:
1. Lumerian
2. Deceiver
3. Monarch
4. Illusion
5. Antagonist
6. Modesty
7. Dissident
8. Fortune
All songs written by SOEN
Produced and recorded by Iñaki Marconi
Vocal editing by Ricardo Borges
Vocals on track 1 to 5 and drums recorded and produced by David Castillo
Mixed and mastered by Kane Churko
Cover design by Enrique Zabala
Art Design by Wriliya
Cover photo by Mark Laita
Due to the ongoing restrictions surrounding the COVID-19 pandemic, SOEN postponed the first leg of their IMPERIAL European Tour 2021 until winter 2021. Today, the band are excited to add fourteen new dates in Europe and the United Kingdom. The tour will kick-off in November 2021 in Odense, Denmark. All purchased tickets remain valid for rescheduled dates and tickets remain on-sale. For a full list of confirmed dates, tickets, and additional information, please click here.
2021 Tour Dates:
16 November – Train, Aarhus – Denmark
17 November – Lille Vega, Copenhagen – Denmark
18 November – Posten, Odense – Denmark
20 November – Borderij – Zoetermeer – The Netherlands
21 November – Trix – Antwerp – Belgium
23 November – King Tuts – Glasgow – United Kingdom*
24 November – Rebellion – Manchester – United Kingdom*
25 November – o2 The Institute 2 – Birmingham – United Kingdom*
26 November – o2 Academy Islington, London – United Kingdom*
27 November – La Maroquinerie – Paris – France
29 November – Le Rex – Toulouse – France
1 December – Hard Club, Porto – Portugal
2 December – Lisboa ao Vivo, Lisbon – Portugal
3 December – Shoko, Madrid – Spain
4 December – Apolo 1, Barcelona- Spain
5 December – CCO Villerburbanne – Lyon – France
7 December – La Maison Blue – Strasburg – France
9 December – Arena – Vienna – Austria
10 December – Colosseum – Kosice – Slovakia
11 December – A38 – Budapest – Hungary
12 December – Randal – Bratislava – Slovakia
14 December – Pralnia, Wroclaw – Poland
15 December – Drizzly Grizzly, Gdansk – Poland
2022 Tour Dates:
28 January – Pustervik, Gothenburg – Sweden
30 January – John Dee, Oslo – Norway
2 February – Logo, Hamburg – Germany
3 February – Luxor, Cologne – Germany
4 February – Melkweg, Amsterdam – The Netherlands
6 February – Z7, Pratteln – Switzerland
9 February – Largo Venue, Rome – Italy
10 February – Magazzini Generali, Milan – Italy
12 February – Colos Saal, Aschaffenburg – Germany
13 February – Hellraiser – Leipzig – Germany
15 February – Proxima, Warsaw – Poland
16 February – Fraanz, Berlin – Germany
20 February – Tavastia, Helsinki – Finland
21 February – Olympia Kortteli, Tampere – Finland
*Tickets on sale March 8th
“‘IMPERIAL’ is emotional and epic, full of hope and frustration – the panopticon of a tough year. It’s an intelligent, yet deeply moving piece of music…” – Metal Hammer Germany
“Between tracks like the tender ‘Illusion’ and the banging opener ‘Lumerian’ lies all the skillfully exercised scope of the SOEN universe…” – Classic Rock Germany
“Sharp prog metal delivered with passion and vigour.” – PROG
“One of the most solid bands out there.” – Ghost Cult
“Another killer album by a band who continues their way to the absolute top!” – Aardschok
“One of the most remarkable releases so far of 2021!” – HeadBangers LifeStyle
“This album contains 8 monster songs and simply doesn’t have a weak moment.” – Progwereld
“IMPERIAL is an artistically constructed entity – an almost spiritual experience.” – Soundi
“Let yourself be carried on this majestic journey and let yourself be flooded by emotions and sensations you never knew music can produce. If the rest of the music to be released in 2021 is up to these standards, we are golden.” – Tuonela Magazine
“Each song could be released as a single. Definitely one of the best albums of the beginning of this year for me.” – Kaaoszine
“Short, distinguished & well balanced, IMPERIAL is released 2 years after the excellent ‘LOTUS’ and shows again the high-class level of the quintet…” – METALLIAN Magazine
“This mix of assassins riff & strong melodies the band propose is without contest, IMPERIAL which is aptly named, is an album where every piece, totally every piece is in place…” – Rock Hard Magazine France
“Unique distinctive sound…” – Metal Hammer Italy
“Artistic maturity achieved.” – Rock Hard Italy
Find Soen Online