BANGLADEAFY: New York City Duo Completes Housefly Album For September Release Via Nefarious Industries; “Harvest” Streaming + Preorders Posted

photo by Jayden Spano
Stream BANGLADEAFY’s “Harvest” HERE.
The unhinged and unpredictable New York City-based duo BANGLADEAFY presents their mind-melting new album, Housefly. The record will see release in September through long-running allies at Nefarious Industries, who has issued the album’s first single, “Harvest,” alongside the cover artwork, preorders, and more.
The limitless and ever-evolving duo BANGLADEAFY – drummer Atif Haq and bassist/pianist/vocalist Jon Ehlers – comes slamming back with a new beast. Housefly brings you thirteen anxiety-ridden compositions performed live on hardware synths, sample pads, and acoustic drums, and entirely abandons the electric bass acrobatics the tag team has become known for. Inspired by the human manipulation of electronic sounds, Housefly sees BANGLADEAFY revisiting influences of their youth such as Skinny Puppy, Nine Inch Nails, and Devo.
Marking a development in the band’s philosophy and approach to songwriting, particularly in the vocal department, Housefly embraces more personal lyricism and an uncharacteristically up-front vocal presence. In 2020, BANGLADEAFY have freed themselves of all expectation and restraint – now, anything goes.
With the drums recorded and mixed by Mike Gatto of Gatto Records, Housefly was otherwise engineered, mixed, and mastered by Jonathan Vergara of Pancake Studios, and completed with artwork by Bryan Elkins.
Ehlers offers, “Contrary to previous BANGLADEAFY albums, there is no electric bass on this release. Everything that is heard on this album was performed live on hardware synths, sample pads, and acoustic drumming. We felt that we said what we needed to say on bass and were not interested in creating another acrobatic bass and drum album. I hesitate to say that this album is a ‘quarantine’ album because most of it was written before the virus hit, but it’s safe to say that the arrangement, segues, and motifs were certainly a response to the anxiety created by COVID-19. There was supposed to be more songs tracked in a studio for this album, but safety precautions prevented that from happening. Rather than sit and wait for this whole thing to blow over, we made the best of a bad situation and adapted by adding some new clay to our sculpture.”
The lead single from Housefly, “Harvest” contains manipulated samples of NYC mates Detach The Islands.
Nefarious Industries will release Housefly on all digital platforms on September 18th. Find preorders at Bandcamp HERE and label shop HERE. Watch for additional singles, videos, and more from the album to see release over the weeks ahead.
Housefly Track Listing:
1. Theme From Housefly
2. Bloom
3. Harvest
4. First Instar
5. Miracles
6. Second Instar
7. Shortcuts
8. Third Instar
9. Lifeforms
10. Pupa
11. Tar
12. Musca domestica
13. Youthanor
Jon Ehlers – vocals, synths, samplers
Atif Haq – drums
Review copies of Housefly will be deployed in the immediate future. For all interviews/coverage of BANGLADEAFY worldwide contact