TPBLive2 by Ariane van Ginneke

“There’s a workmanship to [‘I Need That Oooh’]’s driving nature, guitars chugging through sweat and mallets bashing into toms.”
Consequence of Sound

“The biker-blues duo of Fynn Claus Grabke and Philipp Mirtschink create a creepy, David Lynch soundtrack vibe that will appeal to fans of Nick Cave, Tom Waits, the Gun Club and whatever Jack White is lending his guitar skills to.”
Alternative Press

“…[a] unique brand of heavy-blues-drenched rock…”

“With Home Is A Heartache, The Picturebooks challenge the boundaries of what blues and rock should be–even going to lengths to create their own instruments to do so. They sound, well, like The Picturebooks, and it wouldn’t be justice to compare them to anyone else. Home Is A Heartache is something you’ve got to hear to fully understand; its visceral and marrow-shaking sound will surely rattle playlists for generations to come.”
— East Of 8th

“Like some middle ground between blues and just plain darkness, they are – in a world where everything is as homogenised as a Big Mac meal – something completely different.”
— Maximum Volume Music (9/10)


Today, German blues-rock duo The Picturebooks have released their new album, Home is a Heartache, via Another Century Records. Fans can also stream their new track, “Wardance,” which recently debuted with premier European rock outlet, Visions.

Stream “Wardance” here.

“‘Wardance’ is one of our favorite tracks on the album,” says The Picturebooks. “The choir you hear in the background is sung by our best friends. When you listen closely, you can hear people going crazy, screaming and shouting at the end of the song. We basically told them to ‘let it all out’ and they went freaking crazy! After seeing us perform live, people often told us that it felt like some kind of ceremony and we were performing our wardance. That was our main inspiration for the song. We often talk visuals before we start writing a song. For us, it’s important to have a picture in our head that we want to see and feel when we play, hear and perform our music.”

Home is a Heartache is the band’s sophomore release and Another Century label-debut. The 14-track album was recorded in the band’s garage, where they regularly refurbish and repair motorcycles and choppers. The album captures a raw, rich, and real energy evoking the room’s natural reverb, industrial aura, and spiritual spark.

The German duo — featuring Fynn Claus Grabke [vocals, guitar] and Philipp Mirtschink [drums] — performs enticing blues-saturated heavy rock, with Fynn playing on obscure vintage guitars he bought from thrift shops around the world, while Philipp beats a drum set that consists of the largest possible drums that he hits with heavy duty felt beaters. The set has no cymbals whatsoever and instead includes a few self-made percussion instruments with huge chains, bells, and more.

A studio video provides an intimate look into how they created their own unique hideaway to supplement a lack of things to do in their small town. The creative space includes a studio, writing space, motorcycle garage, skate ramp and more. Watch the video here.

Home is a Heartache is available for purchase at the following link:


Home is a Heartache

ThePicturebooks HiaH Cover

1. Seen Those Days
2. Wardance
3. Home Is A Heartache
4. Fire Keeps Burning
5. On These Roads I’ll Die
6. I Need That Oooh
7. The Murderer
8. Zero Fucks Given
9. Cactus
10. I Came A Long Way For You
11. Get Gone
12. Bad Habits Die Hard
13. Heathen Love
14. Inner Demons



It’s not surprising that The Picturebooks record in the same garage where they regularly refurbish and repair motorcycles and choppers. The German duo — Fynn Claus Grabke [vocals, guitar] and Philipp Mirtschink [drums] — captures a raw, rich, and real energy befitting of the room’s natural reverb, industrial aura, and spiritual spark.

Fynn and Philipp first crossed paths at a local skate park. Becoming fast friends, they realized their mutual interests extended beyond skateboarding and into music like The Smiths, The Cure, and Minor Threat. Soon, they began writing songs together, utilizing equipment Fynn’s dad Claus had accumulated over his years as a musician and record producer.

Mirroring their daredevil skateboarding ethos, they broke rules while recording. For starters, there was considerable physical space between the musicians and the microphones, and it wasn’t simply a sterile studio environment. The concrete floors and airy expanse contributed to the sound, and the overall atmosphere proved quite a propos. They even constructed their own instruments to boot. Fynn picked up thrift shop guitars in Los Angeles. Influenced by the tribal sounds of Native American music, the band built custom percussion and augmented their feet with bells. Moreover, Philipp decided to eschew playing cymbals and adopted large Toms, which he bashes with mallets instead of sticks. They conjured true fire in the garage with that astounding, untainted reverb and their personal arsenal of modified instruments.

Ultimately, all of these pieces form a blues-rock pastiche that’s as individualistic as it is infectious. The band signed with Another Century Records in 2016 with their label-debut, Home is a Heartache set for release on March 10, 2017.

For more information on THE PICTUREBOOKS, visit:

Bernard Cana

Bernard is a photographer based out of Orlando, FL. He started photographing models 5 years ago and felt the need for a change of pace. In July 2016 he was introduced to band photography and immediately found a passion for it. Bernard primarily covered performances at local venues. He joined in October 2016 as a photographer and writer covering both bands on tour and local bands. If you are interested in having Bernard cover your shows you may reach out to him here: E-mail: Facebook: Instagram:

error: Content is protected !!