ENSNARED stream INVICTUS / DARK DESCENT debut at “Decibel” magazine’s website

Today, Swedish death metal mavericks Ensnared stream the entirety of their highly anticipated debut album, Dysangelium, at Decibel magazine’s website. Set for international release on May 12th as a joint release between Invictus Productions and Dark Descent RecordsDsyangelium is work of careful, continual evolution, the fiery, fearless fruit born of conflict and strife, the descent into one’s self and ascent into the Beyond – beyond possibility, beyond doubt, beyond boundary. Hear Ensnared‘s Dysangelium in its entirety exclusively HERE.

As with all things born that are destined to die, Ensnared has slithered and slavered, hungered and hated, corrupting those waves of air most precious to the ones with ears to hear, ever worsewards since that momentous year of 2010. Rehearsing, rearranging, and recognizing the infinite possibilities of failure, its firstborn tore its way out of its cunt and saw the greyness of the Swedish sky in 2011. As a demo, as the opening statement of intent and disorient, it bore the eponymous title of Ensnared.

The sum of its parts exchanged on numerous accounts, withdrawing withershins with wanton wounds: reorganizing, reconstructing, and returning to spew forth a second scorn in 2013, once again by the radiance of Nuclear Winter Records, it bore the title Ravenous Damnation’s Dawn. Wrought in somber soundscapes, the toil of its tilling bore fruit and bore calamity to calmness and an end to silence: Ensnared killed, crafted, and descended to Hell’s Pleasure in 2014.

As with all things dying that are destined to live, Ensnared has toiled and trodden on paths worn down by those before. Ever failing, ever finding new futility in the opulence of expression, but by the virtue of perseverance did the dysangelical take its form and was moulded in its fathomless form. It now bears the title Dysangelium, wreaking purulence in hearts perverse, as a full-length display of magicks harnessed and discarded.

Verily Ensnared in its immediate sonic sensation(s) yet very much its own rancourous, cantankerous creation stripped of precedent, Dysangelium is an electric plunge into cryogenic labyrinths perversely coursing with molten lava. It is these very contrasts with which the band work their zealous magick, creating discordance in accordance with an iron will, gleefully given to slipstreaming mischief and malevolence alike. Death metal undeniably forms its foundation, ancient as it ever was, but bearing no tangible geography nor chronology; the genre’s continuum is a straight line, and Ensnared‘s path across Dysangelium zig-zags both above and below that line.

Where most bands take multiple records – if any at all, before inertia sets in for good – Ensnared have already made their bolder/boldest strides forward (and maybe backward, twisting time to their own design) with the treacherous terrain of their debut album. Void terra firma and enter the void of Dysangelium

That void can be entered fully exclusively HERE, courtesy of Decibel, North America’s only monthly metal magazine. Cover and tracklisting are as follows:

Tracklisting for Ensnared’s Dysangelium
1. Crushing the Meek of Heart
2. Interlude I
3. Gale of Maskim
4. Interlude II
5. Antiprophet
6. Interlude III
7. Apostles of Dismay
8. Interlude IV
9. Impious Immance
10. Interlude V
11. Dysangelium



MrDread Is a writer, editor and photographer of the DreadMusicReview. He is an adventurer who travels as much as humanly possible, and has been to every state except Delaware.

error: Content is protected !!