Duncan Lloyd (Maximo Park) premieres new track at Brooklyn Vegan / New solo album out May 26

Duncan Lloyd premieres new track “Heart In Delay” at Brooklyn Vegan

New solo album “I O U O M E” out May 26th via Afternoon In Bed Records

Listen to “Heart In Delay” HERE

“This record finds him in hazy dreampop mode, recalling the early ’90s shoegaze heyday.”
Brooklyn Vegan

Duncan Lloyd is probably best known as the guitarist and musical driving force behind Mercury Music Prize nominated band, Maximo Park, but Lloyd’s frenetic outpouring has also seen him busy with various projects including Decade In Exile, Nano Kino, experimentalists Res Band, and solo work under his own name. It is his solo work which now calls for our attention, with the release of new album, ‘I O U O M E’, and the latest track to be taken from it, “Heart In Delay”.


On an album about surviving change, detailing the effort to escape self-destructiveness, division and the inevitable breakdown of certain relationships, Lloyd offers some thoughts on new track “Heart In Delay”, which features the vocal talents of Eternal Summers’ Nicole Yun; “Heart In Delay came together when my friend and tour buddy Nicole Yun (Eternal Summers) joined on vocals, a song that is about being let down and a breakdown in trust. We recorded it driven and raw to suit the sentiment.”

Talking about the album, Lloyd comments; “From ‘Heads Of The Bastille’ onwards, these songs come from a more personal perspective and it’s fair to say there is a lot of longing in them. They were mostly written in motion, travelling on long journeys, often late at night when ideas tend to mutate & evolve in a way which is less black & white, where finer subtleties appear.”

Ultimately “I O U O M E” is an absorbing album, rich with melody, melancholy and wit. With the addition of Tom English (Maximo Park) on drums, and additional vocals from Eternal Summers’ Nicole Yun, the album powers into sonorous focus, never lapsing, it is a full-blown journey that is saying something worth hearing and for Lloyd, the end result this time, is his alone.

I O U O M E by Duncan Lloyd

1. The City Weeps
2. You Seem Confused
3. Heart In Delay
4. Being Frank
5. A Little Lit Up
6. Painters
7. Steel Pin Raindrops
8. Tomorrow’s Fires
9. Heads Of The Bastille
10. Really

Duncan Lloyd has released music on Warp Records, Co-Op, Crash Symbols Tapes, PIAS, Universal, EMI & Afternoon In Bed. ‘IOUOME’ is the second album under his own name.

Pre-order the album HERE



MrDread Is a writer, editor and photographer of the DreadMusicReview. He is an adventurer who travels as much as humanly possible, and has been to every state except Delaware.

error: Content is protected !!